Recovering old versions of files

Destroyed files
Photo by Editor B

There is only one thing more annoying than deleting a file accidentally, and that is overwriting it – for example, accidentally deleting the content and then saving. At least, with deleting, the Recycle Bin saves us sometimes.

Well, with windows Vista there are copies of every file saved every time you boot the machine, so at least you can go back to yesterday’s file and probably a few days before that.

This “shadowing”, as it is called, is turned on by default in all versions of Vista Continue reading “Recovering old versions of files”